Skip to content

West Jordan High School – March 3, 2015

Increasing Reading, Writing, Listening and Speaking Across All Content Areas

Rethinking the Classroom: Spaces Designed for Active and Engaged Learning and Teaching. (n.d.). Retrieved March 2, 2015, from http://www.hermanmiller.com/research/solution-essays/rethinking-the-classroom.html

Reading

Newsela | Nonfiction Literacy and Current Events https://newsela.com/

Read smarter now http://rewordify.com/

Text Compactor http://textcompactor.com/

Writing

Lessonwriter - What Do You Want To Teach Today? http://www.lessonwriter.com/

ReadWriteThink http://www.readwritethink.org

Teaching Strategies https://www.facinghistory.org/for-educators/educator-resources/teaching-strategies

UEN Resources  http://www.uen.org

Listening and Speaking

Find Someone Who  http://www.theteachertoolkit.com/index.php/tool/find-someone-who/

Kagan Structure: Quiz, Quiz, Trade  http://youtu.be/o4n60DpwYOg

One Minute Note  http://www.theteachertoolkit.com/index.php/tool/one-minute-note/

Password  http://www.theteachertoolkit.com/index.php/tool/password/

Quiz, Quiz, Trade http://www.theteachertoolkit.com/index.php/tool/quiz-quiz-trade/

Turn and Talk  http://www.theteachertoolkit.com/index.php/tool/turn-and-talk/

Walk, Talk, Decide  http://www.theteachertoolkit.com/index.php/tool/walk-talk-decide/

Zwiers, J., & Crawford, M. (2011). Academic conversations: Classroom talk that fosters critical thinking and content understandings. Portland, Me.: Stenhouse.